Ministry of Technology, Research and Innovation (MOSTI) of Malaysia

Last updated: 13.02.2014

Address: Aras 1-7, Blok C4 & C5, Kompleks C, Pusat Pentadbiran Kerajaan Persekutuan, 62662 Putrajaya, Wilayah Persekutuan,Malaysia

Tel: 8885 8000


Company description

The Ministry of Technology, Research and Innovation (MOSTI) is the Malaysian ministry in charge of research, telecommunication and information technology. The current minister is Datuk Dr. Maximus Ongkili.

MOSTI was first established in 1973 as the Ministry of Technology, Research and Local Government. Additional responsibility as the lead agency pertaining to environmental matters, the ministry then assumed its name Ministry of Science, Technology and Environment (MOSTE) in 1976. The formation of MOSTI came after the restructuring of MOSTE following the Cabinet decision on March 27, 2004.
In February 2007 were introduced a cluster approach (Biotechnology, ICT, Industry, Sea to Space and S&T Services). The National Innovation Model 2007 was introduced as well.

The objectives of the ministry are to move the economy up the value chain and raise the country’s capacity for knowledge, creativity and innovation and nurture first class mentality, which implies:
Increase productivity and competitiveness in agriculture, manufacturing and services sectors
Generate new sources of wealth in technology and knowledge-intensive sectors
Knowledge and innovation will be key determinants of Malaysia’s success as a KBE
Enhance innovation system that encourages top quality R&D and its commercialisation

Products and services

MOSTI controls and supervises a number of institutions that are responsible in providing technical services to the government and the public. Besides divisions and agencies of the federal government, MOSTI also supervises companies set up by the government or through incorporation of a government body:
Multimedia Development Corporation (MDeC)
Technology Park Malaysia Corporation Sdn Bhd (TPM)
Malaysia Biotechnology Corporation (MBC)
Astronautic Technology Sdn Bhd (ATSB)
National ICT Security and Emergency Response Centre (NISER)
Malaysia Network Information Centre (MYNIC)
Malaysian Technology Development Corporation (MTDC)


We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our site. For more info

See our Cookie Privacy Policy Here