written on 28.02.2014

Prix Galien Russia 2014 Application Session Officially Open


Frederic Boucheseiche, Secretary General of Prix Galien Russia officially announced the opening of the application period for Prix Galien Russia 2014 at a cocktail reception hosted on February 19, 2014 by H.E. Jean-Maurice Ripert, Ambassador of France to the Russian Federation. During his speech,   the Secretary General disclosed the members of the Jury, program and product categories for Prix Galien Russia 2014.

The reception was attended by over 90 VIP guests including Mikhail Murashko, Acting Head of Roszdravnadzor, who reminded that the Ministry of Health supports Prix Galien and is willing to continue our collaboration. We are confident that the award will contribute to the development of Russian scientific potential in health care.

The French Ambassador echoed the Ministry’s statement by stating that  “our two countries maintain an old and deep scientific relationship in medical research….Our institutional dialogue is also very entrenched.“

The Prix Galien Russia 2014 will include a total of 7 product categories under which companies and researchers will be able to compete. The Jury will select one laureate per category by questioning the level of innovation and what was learnt for the future of life sciences during the research program or scientific and clinical development of each candidate. The laureates of each category will receive a prestigious commemorative Prix Galien Medal in a gala dinner and awards ceremony to take place in  Moscow on October 23rd, 2014.

Deadline for applications is June 30th 2013.

The full category list was disclosed as follows:

Biopharmaceutical Products

  • Research in Russia
  • Pharmaceutical Agent
  • Biotechnology Product
  • Orphan Drug (New)

Medical Technology Products (New)

  • Russian Medical Device
  • Implants & Surgery
  • Diagnostics & Self-treatment

Four new Jury members were also introduced during the reception. In total, Prix Galien Russia 2014 will count with the following 13 Jury members:

Prof. Sergei O. Bachurin – Academician, Director of the Institute of Physiologically Active Compounds of the RAS, Chairman of the Moscow Society of Chemistry.

Prof. Alexander G.  Chuchalin – Director of Pulmonology Research Institute, Head of the Department of Hospital Therapy, Pediatric Faculty, Russian Medical State University

Prof. Vladimir T. Ivashkin – President of Russian Gastroenterological Association

Prof. Eugeny L. Nasonov – Director of Research Institute of Rheumatology of RAMS

Prof. Rem V. Petrov – Academician

Prof. Dmitry Y. Pushkar – Chief Urologist Ministry of Health and Social development of the Russian Federation

Prof. Amiran Sh. Revishvili – President of the Pan-Russian Scientific Society of Clinical Electrophysiology, Arhythmology and Cardiac Pacing.

Prof. Gennady T. Sukhikh – Director FSI Obstetrics, Gynecology and Neonatology Research Institute

Prof. Evgeny D. Sverdlov – Head of the Genetics and Postgenomic Technologies Department of the Shemyakin-Ovchinnikov Institute of Bioorganic Chemistry.

Prof. Khristo P. Takhchidi – Chairman of the Russian Society of Ophthalmologists, Head of the Department of Ophthalmology of the Medical Faculty RNRMU

Prof. Igor E. Tyurin – Chief Expert in Radiology for the Russian Ministry of Health

Prof. Michael V. Ugrumov – Head of the Laboratory of Hormonal Regulations of the Institute of Developmental Biology of the RAS, Advisor to the President of RAS

Prof. Valeriy M. Zaiko – Head of Biomedical Engineering Scientific Research Department, Chief of Medical Devices Test Center & Certification Body

Full text of the speeches delivered at the event can be found at the following link:


About Prix Galien Russia

Being founded in France in 1970, the Prix Galien is the oldest and most prized award for therapeutic innovation. There are now 16 countries organizing a similar national program as part of the Prix Galien movement. In Russia, the Prix Galien was awarded for the first time in Moscow in October 2013.

The Prix Galien Russia 2013 laureates were: Prof. Alexander Sobolev, Andrey Rosenkranz and Vladimir Lunin for their research on Modular Nanotransporters under the Research in Russia category, Lilly for Pemetrexed (ALIMTA) under the Pharmaceutical Agent category and Novartis for Ranibizumab (LUCENTIS) under the Biotechnology Product category.

For additional information please visit www.prixgalienrussia.com or contact Leonardo Barquero at prixgalien@focusreports.net.